SezonasAtklasana_kvadrA cold winter’s day in Saint Petersburg inspired Ādolfs Ābele to compose Vīzija (Vision). His contemporaries reveal that the composer tried to weave the voices of heavenly birds into the music. Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2 witnesses emotional turmoil of a young man – it is an exquisite, deeply dramatic example of the genre. Ravel’s playful ballet score depicts seduction, kidnapping, pirates, nymphs and the love of a young couple, blooming with true French tenderness.

Ravel’s ballet is impossible to imagine without the quality performance by choir Latvija. Russian pianist Andrei Korobeinikov possesses a peculiar and exciting musical talent and he will play the solo of Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2.

Ādolfs Ābele’s Vīzija (Vision) is one of the most exquisite pearls of Latvian symphony music – a magnificent start of the new season. Composer Jēkabs Poruks explains: “Vision is a story of a wonderful spring that has never been and can never be; about heavenly birds, about the longing for happiness and the misery upon realisation that it is a mere illusion.”

Sergei Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2 is a true masterpiece. The composer himself highly esteemed his piece and often played it in concerts. However, in the first performance, a part of the audience loudly voiced their outrage and even left the concert hall. The piece, perhaps, was quite shocking for its time, but many people immediately acknowledged the value of this music. Pierre Boulez deemed the concerto one of Prokofiev’s greatest achievements; Richter considered it to be one of the three fundamental piano works along with Beethoven’s Piano Sonata No. 29 and Brahms’s Variations. Prokofiev dedicated the concerto to Maximilian Schmidthof – a fellow student with a tragic fate.

Pianist Andrei Korobeinikov was born in Moscow. He currently resides in Saint Petersburg and travels around the world on concert tours. According to the musician himself, he has performed in more than 40 countries. He is the laureate of numerous international competitions. Pianist’s idols are Beethoven, Scriabin, Rachmaninoff, Shostakovich, Gilels, Sofronitsky, Gould, Yudin, David Oistrakh, Furtwängler, Solti, Abbado, Mravinsky, Lemeshev, Chaliapin and Quasthoff.

In the second part of the concert, you will hear the score of Maurice Ravel’s ballet Daphnis et Chloé. The libretto by Michel Fokine is based on the novel Daphnis and Chloé by 2nd century Greek writer Longus. In the story, goatherd Daphnis and shepherd Chloe explore their first relationship. Through peril and challenge, the inexperienced teenagers bloom into a passionate, loving couple. The score is bright, sensual, lavish, erotically enticing. Finally – a happy ending and a spectacular bacchanal.

25 Sep

19.00 / Friday / Riga, The Great Guild


Andrei Korobeinikov - Piano

State choir “Latvija”


Andris Poga


  • Ādolfs Ābele Symphonic poem Vision
  • Sergejy Prokofiev Piano Concerto No.2 in G minor, op.16
  • Maurice Ravel Ballet Daphnis et Chloé

Return to all concerts