According to the musicians, “the idea of the concert is to combine American minimalism with Latvian avant-garde.” The core of the programme is the LNSO’s String Quartet and Mārcis Auziņš, a brilliant electric guitar player. The programme includes new pieces by the energetic Kārlis Lācis, pensive Raimonds Tiguls with his hang, and Mārcis himself. Admirers of American minimalism will enjoy the circular perpetuity of Philip Glass and Steve Reich’s work.

13 Apr

19.00 / Thursday / Riga, The Great Guild


Ilze KIRSANOVA, violin

Raimonds MELDERIS, violin

Oskars SILIŅŠ, violin

Arvīds ZVAGULIS, violin

Liene BEITĀNE, viola

Ainārs PAUKŠĒNS, cello

Mārcis AUZIŅŠ, guitar

Raimons TIGULS, hang



  • Mārcis AUZIŅŠ New Work for String Quartet and Guitar
  • Philip GLASS String Quartet no. 2 "Company"
  • Kārlis LĀCIS New Work for String Quartet and Guitar
  • Steve REICH "Violin" Phase for 4 Violins
  • Steve REICH "Electric Counterpoint"
  • Raimonds TIGULS New Work for String Quartet and Electric Guitar
  • Erkki-Sven TUUR String Quartet no. 1

Return to all concerts