The LNSO reunites with Vassily Sinaisky, the orchestra’s former music director from 1975 to 1987, when the performance quality significantly improved and the orchestra started touring more extensively beyond Latvia’s borders.

This time, Sinaisky has chosen Edward Elgar’s Variations on an Original Theme (Enigma) – a composition in which the distinguished English composer paints tonal portraits of his friends and relatives. Many will have heard Nimrod, the most popular and beautiful variation, but this is an opportunity to hear the entire portrait gallery in one sitting. The title of the variations, Enigma, befits the LNSO’s present season theme: Music and Mathematics. This is also the right occasion to discuss how to encrypt people’s names, titles, and ideas using the sound.

We are particularly pleased that Vassily Sinaisky will conduct Symphony No. 21 by Latvian classic symphony music composer Jānis Ivanovs, as he also conducted its first performance. Ivanovs never finished the symphony, and his student Juris Karlsons completed the piece and its orchestral arrangement.

The programme also includes a concerto: Sergey Prokofiev’s concise, striking Piano Concerto No. 1. This will be Riga’s first encounter with the rising star, young Cuban pianist Jorge González Buajasán.

Though perhaps the most important part of the night – the LNSO will award the title of Honorary Conductor (conductor emeritus) to Vassily Sinaisky in gratitude for maestro’s outstanding achievements in fostering Latvia’s symphony music scene and Latvian music as a whole.

03 Nov

19.00 / Friday / Riga, The Great Guild


Jorge González Buajasán - piano


Vassily Sinaisky


  • Jānis Ivanovs Symphony no. 21
  • Sergey Prokofiev Piano Concerto no. 1
  • Edward Elgar Variations on an Original Theme (Enigma)

Return to all concerts