Juris Karlsons has written a new piece for piano and orchestra, solo by the pensive virtuoso Andrejs Osokins. Romualds Grīnblats used to be one of Riga’s modernist composers, and this will be the Latvian premiere of his Symphony no. 6 The Intervals, considered the composer’s best work by the author himself. We will also hear Tchaikovsky’s dramatic poem Francesca da Rimini about the tragic love of the belle of Ravenna, as described by Dante in his Divine Comedy; as well as Ravel’s famous Waltz, the work that almost forced the composer to defend his honour in a duel. A concert for inquisitive listeners who can appreciate the known and who are compelled to find out the unknown.

25 Oct

19.00 / Friday / Riga, The Great Guild


Andrejs Osokins - piano


Andris Vecumnieks


  • Juris KARLSONS Symphony no. 2 for orchestra and piano (premiere)
  • Romualds GRĪNBLATS Symphony no. 6 (Latvian premiere)
  • Pyotr TCHAIKOVSKY Francesca da Rimini
  • Maurice RAVEL La Valse
Buy ticket

Return to all concerts