Puccini is known as a genius opera composer, but he had a whim in his youth to become an author of sacral music, and his Messa di Gloria was a bold step in this direction. The mass is bursting of Catholic vigour; it is at times carefree and even sincerely naive – what a joy to listen to! The youthful mass has found two very suitable performers – Latvian National Opera soloists Mihails Čuļpajevs and Rihards Millers. The second part of the concert includes the brilliant musical painter Karol Szymanowski’s exciting Symphony no. 4, which might also be called a piano concerto, solo by contemporary music expert Elīna Bērtiņa. Tadeusz Wojciechowski is bound to take us to a land of surprises – this is a special invitation for all the inquisitive explorers of music!


04 Oct

19.00 / Friday / Riga, The Great Guild


Elīna Bērtiņa - piano

Mikhail Chulpayev - tenor

Rihards Millers - baritons

The State Choir "Latvija" -


Tadeusz Wojciechowski


  • Giacomo PUCCINI Messa di Gloria
  • Karol SZYMANOWSKI Symphony no. 4

Return to all concerts