LNSO chamber music. DOUBLE BASS


LNSO principal double bass Oskars Bokanovs pays tribute to the largest string instrument of the symphony orchestra. He will perform Bach with pianist Rihards Plešanovs and play Pēteris Vasks’ virtuoso Bass Trip. César Franck’s popular Violin Sonata, arranged for double bass, will top off the concert. The programme also includes one of Messiaen’s mystical contemplations on the infant Jesus. An exciting programme of marvellous music with enthusiastic young artists!




04 Apr

19.00 / Thursday / Riga, The Great Guild


Oskars Bokanovs - Principal

Rihards Plešanovs - piano


  • Johann Sebastian BACH Sonata in D major, BWV 1028
  • Olivier MESSIAEN "Le baiser de l'Enfant-Jésus" from "Vingt Regards sur l’Enfant Jésus"
  • Pēteris VASKS "Bass Trip" for solo double bass
  • César FRANCK Sonata for Violin and Piano, Oskars Bokanovs’ arrangement for double bass

Return to all concerts