STRING QUARTET 3+1Chamber music concert


The String Quartet 3+1 has been highly appraised by the listeners and critics alike, and it continues to remind us about outstanding, yet rarely performed treasures of chamber music. Béla Bartók’s Piano Quintet is a work of his youth, where we can see the handiwork of a young master, but not yet the handwriting of the Bartók as we know him. It is told that Bartók was barely convinced not to destroy the quintet, which for a long time was considered his most popular work. Sergey Taneyev’s Piano Quintet is a classic of the genre – monumental, multi-faceted, almost symphonic example of chamber music, full of beauty and noble drama. The young pianist Edgars Tomševics, who is excellent in chamber music, has performed with the 3+1 Quartet several times. The outstanding Sandra Jalaņecka, who performs much too seldom, will be their partner for the first time.

11 Feb

19.00 / Thursday / Riga, The Great Guild


Beāte Račko -

Liene Neija-Kalniņa -

Arigo Štrāls - Principal

Diana Ozoliņa - Principal

Edgars Tomševics -


Sandra Jalaņecka, piano


  • Béla Bartók Piano Quintet BB 33
  • Sergey Taneyev Piano Quintet in G minor, op. 30

Return to all concerts