Three plus one


In early 2016, the string quartet 3+1 gave a concert to celebrate their fifth anniversary. The core members of the quartet are Arigo Štrāls, principal violist of the LNSO, and Diana Ozoliņa, LNSO’s principal cellist. Both players are long-standing partners in chamber music ever since the inception of the orchestra Rīgas kamermūziķi (The Chamber Musicians of Riga) in the turn of the 1990s. In the quartet 3+1, the two experienced experts team up with new generation violinists Beāte Račko and Liene Neija-Kalniņa.


Traditionally, the quartet invites a pianist to join them in performance. In the previous concerts of the LNSO Chamber Music series, the quartet has been accompanied by Elīna Bērtiņa, Sandra Jalaņecka and Edgars Tomševics. This time, our guest is Sergejs Osokins, professor at the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music – a man of great erudition, extensive knowledge and remarkable musical talent. He is also a piano pedagogue, an explorer of new paths, and the father of notable young generation pianists Andrejs and Georgijs.


Together with Sergejs Osokins, 3+1 will perform a brilliant masterpiece by little-known Polish pianist and composer Juliusz Zarębski. The extraordinarily talented man studied in Vienna and St. Petersburg, he was Franz Liszt’s protégé, and a virtuoso pianist. Although he died young with tuberculosis, the pianist was in high demand and managed to tour the largest European cities, receiving tremendous ovations. Zarębski’s final years were devoted to teaching. The quintet included in this concert programme was written in Zarębski’s last year of life and is considered his most important work.


Listening to the quintet is exciting: after a spectacular, changeable first movement follows a melodious adagio, environed by a beautiful undulating musical halo; the scherzo is partially savage, partially terpsichorean gambolling towards nowhere in particular; and in the finale, the rapid shift of mood culminates in a passionate pinnacle with references to the preceding movements.


Two LNSO’s musicians will also be guests at the 3+1’s concert.

Violist Tatjana Ļebedeva will accompany the quartet in the performance of Johannes Brahms’ String Quintet No. 2, Op. 111 – another masterpiece of chamber music. Self-confident joviality prevails over the piece, while the second movement is an enchanting meditation, and the third – a quasi waltz with just a hint of resignation.

LNSO’s principal cellist Ieva Upatniece will contribute to the performance of String Quintet by Carl Vine – possibly the most popular Australian composer of contemporary classical music.

01 Dec

19.00 / Thursday / Riga, The Great Guild


Beāte RAČKO, Violon I


Arigo ŠTRĀLS, Viola

Diana OZOLIŅA, Cello


Tatjana ĻEBEDEVA, Viola


Sergejs OSOKINS, Piano



  • Johanness BRAHMS String quintet No.2
  • Carl Vine String quintet
  • Juliusz Zarębski Piano quintet

Return to all concerts